Guidance on Faculty Senate Elections 2014:

Elections and election procedures are the responsibility of the units, subject to the Bylaws of the Faculty Senate.

The Dean/Director's office is expected to administer the elections.

The Dean/Director may not "appoint" anyone to the Faculty Senate; this is the prerogative of the faculty.

NOT ALL FACULTY AFFILIATED WITH A UNIT MAY PARTICIPATE. The Dean/Director's office should NOT use its full faculty list. Compile a separate list for Faculty Senate elections.

- Tenure-track, research, and term faculty **do qualify** for representation on the Faculty Senate, and may participate in the election. Adjunct and affiliate faculty **do not qualify**, nor do postdocs.
- Faculty with joint appointments are represented only through the unit of their primary appointment, determined as follows:

Faculty with joint appointment that include an academic unit (tenure-granting) are represented through that unit, and should vote only in that unit's elections. Faculty with joint appointments in two academic units are represented through the unit in which the faculty member is tenured or will be reviewed for tenure, and should vote only in that unit's elections.

- In accordance with these rules, faculty voting in elections at the research institutes (GI, IARC) are limited to Research Faculty whose primary appointment is in that unit. There should be no tenure-track faculty participating in elections at the research institutes. Lists of qualifying faculty for these units are provided.
- Faculty with a primary appointment in a unit that is too small to have separate representation at Faculty Senate are represented through another unit. The two IAB faculty are represented through CNSM and the two ARSC faculty are represented through IARC. They should be included in those units' elections.
- By March 17, 2014, the Dean/Director's Office notifies the Faculty Senate office of the results.